What do you find hard to get yourself to start doing, but then after starting you enjoy? For me, I find that doing my laundry, ironing, and running are two things that I have to force myself to start, but I’m so glad I did as soon as it’s done.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
Ironing is always a struggle to motivate myself to do.

This year, I was talking to the dad’s sister, when we were talking about goals and how hard it is to achieve them. Not how hard it is to get to the end, but how hard it is to do the daily grind to get there. While sitting there, she told me about her two-minute rule, and it has really changed the way I do things.

The rule is this: whatever you have to do, whether it’s working out, reading, writing, etc., get everything together and do it for two minutes. Focus on it for those two minutes, and don’t allow yourself to get distracted during that time. If you make it to the end of those two minutes and you feel like stopping, then stop. Take a break. More likely than not, I end up keep going. It’s the starting that I don’t want to do. The two minutes give me an “out” if I really am dreading it, but I have very rarely taken it. I get started, and I want to get it done.

Try it out! Next time you don’t want to do something, tell yourself that you only have to dedicate yourself to it for two minutes. If that’s all you do, then you’re two minutes further than you were before.

 

 

