I don’t really know how to start off this, so I’m just going to come out and say that…

I’m staying in Paris next year! I am so excited that this won’t be just a one-year gig, but instead that I will get to be here for at least two years. Although I’m sad this blog hasn’t been very consistent, I think it’s kinda a testament of how swept up I got with my life here. A lot of people consider being an au pair not a hard job, but I just happened to get put into a more demanding au pair position. I wouldn’t trade this year for anything, and I still have a great relationship with the family, but I do end up working more than the 30 hr limit most weeks. I don’t mind most of the time. I love the kids, and I recognize that the parents have very demanding jobs.

That being said, I will be changing families next year. With my ability to speak French (a downside for them, because the kids have ended up speaking to me in French all year) and my desire to have a less intensive position, it was the best choice. Plus, since I’ll still be in Paris, I will still be able to come and visit occasionally on the weekends. I am so excited for this shift for next year! I get to move across town to a more lively area, and I’ll be able to function more independently than I have been this year. Both of which were things I’ve learned about myself this year for what I need to thrive here: activity and independence.

This summer I will luckily be able to go home and visit my family in August and then come back ready for my second year in Paris! I hope you guys stay aboard to follow my journey continued. I thought it was crazy that I was going to come here, but now what’s even crazier is that I’m staying!

 

 

